Home Amedeo

Flying Publisher   


Press Releases





The Winners

The voters of the Amedeo Medical Literature Service have awarded the 2008 Amedeo Prize to the Wellcome Trust Case Control Consortium (WTCCC), United Kingdom, for its article "Genome-wide association study of 14,000 cases of seven common diseases and 3,000 shared controls", published in Nature on June 6th, 2007 (447:661-78; free full-text).

The 2nd winner is Jennifer L. Baker from the Institute of Preventive Medicine, Center for Health and Society, Copenhagen, Denmark: "Childhood body-mass index and the risk of coronary heart disease in adulthood", published in the New England Journal of Medicine on December 6th, 2007 (357:2329-37; free full-text).

The 3rd winner is Kazutoshi Takahashi from the Department of Stem Cell Biology, Institute for Frontier Medical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan: "Induction of pluripotent stem cells from adult human fibroblasts by defined factors", published in Cell on November 30th, 2007 (131:861-72; free full-text).

The Prize money of 22,000 Euro will be divided as follows: WTCCC: 12,532 Euro; Dr. Baker: 4,808 Euro; Dr. Takahashi: 4,660 Euro.

>>> Press Release


Final Voting Round

Origin of votes
Graphical presentation

Data grouped by

Top 10

Blue Author Names: Free full-text
1. Wellcome Trust Case Control Consortium - Genome-wide association study of 14,000 cases of seven common diseases and 3,000 shared controls. Nature - Free full-text 359
2. Baker, Jennifer L - Childhood body-mass index and the risk of coronary heart disease in adulthood. N Engl J Med - Free full-text 291
3. Takahashi K - Induction of Pluripotent Stem Cells from Adult Human Fibroblasts by Defined Factors. Cell - Free full-text 282
4. Yu J - Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell Lines Derived from Human Somatic Cells. Science - Free full-text 245
5. Zhang, David D - Global climate change, war, and population decline in recent human history. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A - Free full-text 241
6. Menzies, Dick - Meta-analysis: new tests for the diagnosis of latent tuberculosis infection: areas of uncertainty and recommendations for research. Ann Intern Med - Free full-text 215
7. Dubois, Bruno - Research criteria for the diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease: revising the NINCDS-ADRDA criteria. Lancet Neurol - Free full-text 213
8. Amanna, Ian J - Duration of humoral immunity to common viral and vaccine antigens. N Engl J Med - Free full-text 203
9. Reddy, Madhuri - Oral drug therapy for multiple neglected tropical diseases: a systematic review. JAMA - Free full-text 190
10. Vernooij, Meike W - Incidental findings on brain MRI in the general population. N Engl J Med - Free full-text 174

>>> Results of the previous voting rounds

The Medical Article
of the Year 2008

>>> Selection process

Announcement of the Winners

Casteddu/Cagliari, July 3rd - by BSK

The Stars

For obvious reasons, the winners of the Amedeo Prize are the stars of this competition. However, the Prize could not have been awarded without the expertise of the subscribers to Amedeo. While nominating (n=1,694) or voting (n=1,644) may have been a matter of minutes, the combined effort totals more than 400 hours of intense work. The nominators and voters are the hidden stars of the Amedeo Prize.

Contributions (Euro)

5,000 Patricia Bourcillier (PC)
3,000 Bernd Sebastian Kamps
5,000 Pfizer
5,000 Boehringer-Ingelheim
1,000 Torsten Hoof (PC)
1,000 Caruso Family (PC)
1,000 Josiane and Gérard Canu (PC)
1,000 Jürgen Bufler (PC)
PC = Private Contribution